Skip to content Skip to navigation

2023 Ralph Gustafson Poetry Contest Shortlist Announced!














The Fiddlehead is pleased to announce the finalists of our 2023 Ralph Gustafson Poetry Contest, judged by Kirby, Sadiqa de Meiher, and Rebecca Salazar! The winner of the $2000 contest prize will be announced in early April 2024 and the winning poem will appear in the Spring 2024 issue (299). Thank you to all who entered and congratulations to the following fifteen finalists!


Contest finalists: 

Christine Añonuevo — "wending words"

Jes Battis — "Pronoun Policy"

Jenn Carson — "River's Edge: Meduxnekeag"

Clara Collins — "Ode to Drink"

Rhonda Collis — "Heat Dome"

Kimberly Fahner — "In the Bag I Brought Home from Palliative Care the Night My Mother Died"

Matt Hohner — "Venom"

Boyd Lundrigan — "Fire"

Jessica McMillian — "The Air Itself Is One Vast Library"

Khashayar Mohammadi — "Will There Be Enough Water"

Michael Smith — "The Gossip"

Clarissa Treadwell — "Herstory"

Anna Veprinska — "Three vignettes for Ukraine" 

Megan White — "Seven Sown"

Jaeyun Yoo — "Have you seen my father"