Skip to content Skip to navigation

Announcing Finalists for 2019 NB Book Awards!

Logo for the New Brunswick Book Awards

Fredericton (NB) March 26, 2020 - The Fiddlehead and the Writers' Federation of New Brunswick have announced the shortlisted titles for the fifth annual New Brunswick Book Awards. The program celebrates books published in the 2019 calendar year and in three categories: poetry, fiction and nonfiction. The competition is open to traditionally published and self-published authors. The awards presentation ceremony, originally planned for May 23 in Fredericton, has been postponed due to COVID-19. An announcement will be made at a later date regarding plans to celebrate the work of the nominated authors and winners. 

The finalists are as follows:

The Mrs. Dunster's Award for Fiction

Judge: Amy Jones, author of the national bestselling novel We’re All in This Together

Chris Eaton, Sackville, Symphony No. 3 (Book*hug Press)

Sarah Xerar Murphy, Bocabec, Itzel I: A Tlatelolco Awakening (Guernica Editions)

Susan White, Clifton Royal, Fear of Drowning (Acorn Press)

Cover of Symphony No. 3  Cover of Itzel I: A Tlatelolco Awakening  Cover of Fear of Drowning


The Fiddlehead Poetry Book Prize

Judge: D.A. Lockhart, author and publisher at Urban Farmhouse Press

Lucas Crawford, Fredericton, Belated Bris of the Brainsick (Nightwood Editions)

Matthew Gwathmey, Fredericton, Our Latest in Folktales (Brick Books)

Jennifer Houle, Hanwell, Virga (Signature Editions)

Cover image of Belated Bris of the Brainsick  Cover of Our Latest in Folktales  Cover of Virga


Writers’ Federation of New Brunswick Book Award for Nonfiction

Judge: Richard Kelly Kemick, award-winning poet, journalist, and fiction writer

Danny Jacobs, Riverview, Sourcebooks for Our Drawings: Essays and Remnants (Gordon Hill Press)

Leslie Kern, Sackville, Feminist City: A Field Guide (Between the Lines)

Ronald Rees, St. Andrews, and Joshua Green, Crombie Settlement, Slow Seconds: The Photography of George Thomas Taylor (Goose Lane Editions)

Cover of Sourcebook for Our Drawings  Cover of Feminist City  Cover of Slow Seconds: The Photography of George Thomas Taylor


The Alice Kitts Memorial Award for Excellence in Children’s Writing for children’s picture books published in 2019 and 2020 will be presented next year.

Visit The New Brunswick Book Awards to find more information about the categories of awards, eligibility criteria, judges, and past winners.

Add new comment

(If you're a human, don't change the following field)
Your first name.
(If you're a human, don't change the following field)
Your first name.
(If you're a human, don't change the following field)
Your first name.